Published: 30/03/2017 10:43 - Updated: 30/03/2017 11:35

Highland Council election race begins

The election will be held on Thursday, May 4.
The election will be held on Thursday, May 4.

THE candidates standing for election to Highland Council have been revealed.

Nominations closed at 5pm yesterday (Wednesday) for the election which will be held on Thursday May 4.

A total of 165 candidates are contesting all of the 21 multi-member wards for the 74 seats on the council.

The candidates standing in the five wards in Ross-shire are:


Christopher Birt, Strathpeffer - Labour; Biz Campbell, Glenshiel - Independent (Ind); Ian Cockburn, Tarvie - Scottish National Party (SNP); Topher Dawson, Ullapool - Green Party; Richard Greene, Gairloch - Ind; Alexander Macinnes, Kishorn - SNP; Derek Macleod, Gairloch - Conservative; and Kate Stephen, Lochcarron - Liberal Democrat (Lib Dem).


Bill Curran, Lybster - Labour; Mike Finlayson, Evanton - Ind; Sheila Fletcher, Evanton - Ind; Mary MacDonald, Alness - Lib Dem; Pauline Munro, Alness - SNP; Martin Rattray, Invergordon - Ind; Ian Smith, Alness - Conservative; Maxine Smith, Invergordon - SNP; and Carolyn Wilson, Alness - Ind.


Ron Ferguson, Invergordon - Conservative; Derek Louden, Tain - SNP; Alasdair Rhind, Tain - Ind; Fiona Robertson, Tain - Ind; Sandra Skinner, Hilton - Ind; and Jamie Stone, Tain - Lib Dem.


Dave Allison, Muir of Ord - No description; David Jardine, Inverness - Labour; Reiner Luyken, Achiltibuie - Conservative; Graham MacKenzie, Dingwall - SNP; Alister MacKinnon, Conon Bridge - Ind; Angela MacLean, Maryburgh - Lib Dem; and Margaret Paterson, Dingwall - Ind.


Gordon Adam, North Kessock - Lib Dem; Jennifer Barclay, Fortrose - Ind; Craig Fraser, Cromarty - SNP; Michael Macmillan, Dingwall - Labour; Bev Smith, Fortrose - Ind; Rainie Smith, Alness - Conservative; and Vikki Trelfer, Rosemarkie - Green Party.

Councillors are elected using the single transferable vote system so electors will be asked to mark their ballot paper, ranking candidates in preferential order.

Polling takes place on May 4 between 7am and 10pm and the count will take place on Friday May 5 at Inverness Leisure Bught Park, Inverness.

This will be the first local government election at which 16 and 17 year olds can vote.

Anyone wishing to take part must make sure they are registered to vote by midnight on Monday April 17.

Results of the elections are due by the afternoon on Friday May 5.

For full details of the Highland Council election nominations visit

< Back


Reddit Facebook Digg Twitter Bebo